New Indian Coins: Rs 20,Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5, Rs 10

On 7 March  2019, PM Narendra Modi inaugurated the 2019 series coins, launching new One Rupee, Two Rupees, Five Rupees, Ten Rupees and Twenty Rupees coins which will have enhanced design and are visually impaired friendly. Current series of coins is 2011 series in denominations of 50p, ₹1, ₹2, ₹5, and ₹10. The exact dates of the issuance of new series coins of Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5, Rs 10 and Rs 20, for circulation is yet to be decided.

New Indian coins 2019
New Indian coins 2019

New Indian Coins

A Coin is a piece of metal with design and is used as a medium of exchange and so it has become a part of our daily life. When we flip coins, we called the sides of our coins “heads” and “tails.” But there is more to the coin. In fact, coin tells a story of the nation. One can learn about how well the country was, what it believes in by looking at the coins. This article

talks about Anatomy of a Coin, describes current Indian coins and how they have changed over a period of time, mint marks on the Indian coins and Controversy over the 10 Rupee coins. Anatomy of the coin is shown in the image below.

All the new series of coins including the new Rs 20 coin will be minted at state-run mints of India namely, Noida (U.P.), Mumbai (Maharashtra), Alipore (Kolkata), Saifabad and Cherlapally (Hyderabad).

Anatomy of Coin
Anatomy of Coin

OBVERSE of the new Indian coins

The face of the coin shall bear the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar with the legend ‘Satyamev Jayate’ in Hindi inscribed below, flanked on the left periphery with the word ‘Bharat’ in Hindi and on the right periphery with the word “INDIA” in English.

Reverse of the new Indian Coins

The reverse face of the coins will have

  • Their denominational values in international numerals. For example, the face of the 1 Rupee coin shall bear denominational value “1” in the international numerals.
  • The Rupee symbol will be placed above this denominational value.
  • The denomination of the coin will be written in words, in Hindi on the top right and in English on the top right and bottom right peripheries of the reverse face. For example, the Rs 20 coin will have ‘Bees Ruapye’ in Devanagari script and ‘Twenty Rupees’ written on its back.
  • The design of grains depicting the agricultural dominance of the country is flanked on the left periphery of the coin.
  • The year of minting in international numerals shall be shown in the centre of the left periphery of the coin.

New Twenty Rupee Coin

Like Rs 10 coin  Rs 20 coin will be two-toned. The outer ring of the new Rs 20 coin will have 65% copper, 15% zinc, and 20% nickel. Meanwhile, the inner circle or disc will have 75% copper, 20% zinc and 5% nickel.

The new 20 rupee coin isn’t in a circular shape but will have a 27 mm unique dodecagon shape. A dodecagon is a 12-sided polygon.

Rs 10 coin is also 27 mm in diameter but has 100 serrations on its edge. However, Rs 20 coin will not have any such marks on the edge, making it smooth and flawless.

Like other new Indian coins, it will have the following features in its obverse and Reverse

  1. The ‘Lion Capital of Ashoka Pillar’ is minted on the face of the new 20 rupee coin with ‘Satyamev Jayate’ inscribed below it
  2. The denomination value of 20 is minted in international numerals along with the Indian Rupee symbol on the reverse side of the new 20 rupee coin.
  3. ‘Bharat’ in Hindi and ‘India’ in English is minted on the left and right periphery on the face of new Rs 20 coin
  4. The year of minting is inscribed on the centre of left periphery of the new 20 rupee coin in international numerals, such as ‘2019’.

The Need For Rs 20 Coin?

Rs 10 coin the largest denomination of coin used in India right now. Rs 10 coin was launched in March 2009 and has received 13 iterations.

People were troubled, as they had Rs 10 coins, and they cannot be used. In 2017 and 2018, shopkeepers in some part of India refused to accept Rs 10 coin, citing fraud and fake coins in circulation.  The Govt. had to intervene and issue a notification stating that all 14 variations of the Rs 10 coin are valid, and no one can refuse to accept them as they were legal tenders.

Most probably, this confusion over Rs 10 coin led to Govt. introducing Rs 20 coin with a new and stunning design so that there exists no more confusion.

Weight of the new Indian coins 

* One Rupee: 3.09 grams
* Two Rupees: 4.07 grams
* Five Rupees: 6.74 grams
* Ten Rupees: 7.74 grams
* Twenty Rupees: 8.54 grams

Dimension and Composition of New Indian Coins

The coins of the above denominations mentioned in rule 2 shall conform to the dimensions and composition shown in the image below

New Indian Coins
New Indian Coins

Current Indian Coins

Current series of coins is 2011 series when Government issued a series in denominations of 50p, ₹1, ₹2, ₹5, and ₹10. The 50p, ₹1, ₹2, and ₹5 designs are identical except the absence of the rupee symbol in 50p coin. The ₹10 coin continued to be issued in bimetallic issues.

Current Indian Coins
Current Indian Coins

Related Articles:

What do you think of the new Indian Coins? Do you think introducing Rs 20 coin is a good idea?


  1. You gave so much information about coins. I never looked at them for so much detail. At the same time, I found a great difficulty in trading using Rs. 10 coin. In Hisar no one accepted. Except, government toll booths which took these coins.

  2. Good information on Coins. Would appreciate if any one can email me all the variants of Rs 10 Coins till date , both Republic , Commemorative circulating and UNC included.

    Unable to get the information in one matrix.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.